Winter solstice dawn

Another busy day at the office, and therefore a run beginning and ending before the sun was risen.

This picture is the result of forgetfulness. I turned the flash on for an earlier picture. When I got to the Bond Street Bridge over the northwestern motorway, and decided to take this picture of the eastern sky showing Venus and Jupiter, the sky's two brightest planets, I forgot to turn off the flash. This picture is the result.

It was a bit dark, and showed nothing very much. Reducing the shadow has helped, although the image is a bit speckled. Subsequent attempts to get the same scene without the flash had camera shake because of the longer exposure time. The planets ended up being little lines, as did the motorway lights. So I have rejected them in favour of this.

Although today is 22 June 2012 here in New Zealand, at the time I took this (just before 0700) it was 2000 in the UK on 21 June 2012.. So, I think this counts as a solstice picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.