Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Flying away

The bumblebee in this image had been deep inside a flower of Campanula latifolia. It looks like quite a struggle to get back out and then gain the power to fly to the next flower. I was trying to capture a sense of motion in the wings. Tricky. Nice to see more detail in large.

We also grow Campanula lactiflora and Campanula persicifolia as well as another rockery one I can't name. Latifolia flowers just once, whereas lactiflora will give a second smaller flowering if you cut off the dead heads from the first blooms. It is the real show off of the whole species.

I've been gardening most of today. I did connect up the new computer this evening but discovered that the old monitor I wanted to use, (so that I have both old and new computers going at the same time), needs an adaptor to make it work. Rats. I've been trying to learn about VGA and DVI ports so that I can buy the correct adaptor (remembering the gender required too). Ouch.

It has been very humid and uncomfortable today, but the temperature has been up so perhaps the runner beans will start to grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.