Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Swimming

I've been much entertained by this little tome recently. Mr Holbein wrote it back in the early days of the 20th Century (the first publication date is given as 1914) and it's a delightfully dated guide to what is probably my favourite form of exercise and one of only a couple of "sports" at which I have ever shown any aptitude (the other is powerlifting)!

Mr Holbein's book (I feel that I must call him Mr Holbein - it fits so well with the tone of the book) advises on certain aspects of swimming I had not hitherto considered - for example, he recommends making a swimming aid from "a girdle of webbing from a sadler's shop", gives guidance on how to bring interesting objects ashore while out swimming, and even details the correct method for smoking a cigar underwater!

Needless to say, I didn't actually do any of these things when I went swimming this morning. I did complete 54 lengths in what can only be described as idyllic conditions for outdoor swimming. Usually, the walk from changing room to pool requires a certain amount of fortitude (using words like that, can you tell I've been reading Mr Holbein's book?), but this morning it was a pleasant stroll!

Other than that, I've done a bit of sorting, but, I confess, had a rather unproductive day. I could blame the heat, but I'm sure lots of people are doing that so I won't. Usually I don't mind the heat at all in any case, but this year I have a new concern - rats don't generally like it too warm, so I've spent much of the day checking they're OK. I've also been providing them with ice cubes to nibble and a ceramic tile to lie on.

Note, in case the Wonderspouse is reading this: yes, the ceramic tile is the one you use to boil Christmas Puddings on, but since you won't need it while the weather's warm I've lent it to my little men. I'll wash and return it to you in good time for the Christmas Pudding season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.