Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Multi-Storey!

A strange sort of a day today. The morning was spent not really getting stuff done that I should have got done.

The afternoon was spent at my ATOS Healthcare medical - part of the government's drive to stop those who are claiming benefits fraudulently. It's always a slightly weird experience - in order to get better I spend a lot of time focusing on what I CAN do, whereas these medicals are all about what I CANNOT do. And they're with a strange doctor, who doesn't have any advice about getting better, but simply types the answers I give into a computer. From these answers, the DWP will decide whether I'm ill enough to continue paying me ESA or whether I'll be put onto Jobseeker's Allowance and have to sign on at the job centre every fortnight.

If I hadn't come off benefits and gone to do 6 days teaching, the whole exercise would have been unnecessary - just proving that those who try to work and try to get off benefits & help themselves end up creating more hassle for themselves!

Ah well. It won't stop me trying - I'm a determined little creature like that!

As for the picture - well, since I was in Oxford, surrounded by beautiful buildings (that, to me are so much part of normal life since I've been hanging round the place for well over 20 years now), I thought I'd take a picture of the Westgate car park!

Well, you can get postcards and stuff full of historic quads, the Radcliffe Camera, the Sheldonian, the Bridge of Sighs, etc etc etc...

But I've NEVER seen a postcard of the Westgate Car Park!

I don't usually park there because it's a tad too pricey for me - I usually park somewhere more distant and cheaper, then walk however far I need to, but since the medical people were paying my expenses to attend their medical, I thought I'd treat myself to the luxury of an expensive car park!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.