Capital adventures

By marchmont

Malaysia travels day 11 - sunset

Another tropical storm last night.  I decided to go to the capital, Kuah.  what a mistake that was - RM48 (about £10) in taxi fares to see a run down town with more of the inevitable duty free booze and luggage shops.  A 20 minute hot, sticky walk to the port to take photos of the 'main attraction' the giant eagle statue - Langkawi means eagle.  I was glad to get back to the Frangipani.  

Reply from my txt to W h - yes they would like some duty free gin.  managed to get Tanqueray at the shop across the road.

I ate in the hotel to-night. A table on the deck overlooking the sunset and the islands. 'you're alone' said the waitress, 'you're not a couple?' - 'yes, I'm alone'. 34 years ago I wasn't alone, I'd just got engaged to a wonderful man who was my 'other half' and made me so happy - but now he's .....  and I have a new life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.