Dave's Cushions

It was almost like a normal, non-holiday today, back in the mold to a very large extent.

Just a bit rushed at the outset, though, since I had to get home from Carl's place first to get changed and ready for today's Music Group session (which I couldn't afford to miss since I was down to do the concluding 30-minute presentation). After a reviving cup of coffee I jumped on a DART which brought me to Clontarf Road where I'd left the car yesterday afternoon. Home, print out a bit of documentation about the presentation, then a bit of ironing to get rid of holiday crumples, change, then pop into the car again and over to Blackhorse Avenue beside the Phoenix Park.

At first it looked as if it would only be me and today's host, but the numbers reached respectable level eventually and we had a really enjoyable session and then an enthusiastic reaction to my presentation. After a bit of a chat there was no time for the usual trip to the local, so I made my way across town to Carl's where the car was abandoned once again and we DARTed over to Bray to call in on our pal Dave (he of the New Year's Day swims), who'd suggested yesterday that we stop by. What had earlier been a glorious sunny day had unfortunately clouded over by the time we got there (after what Dave considers 'a short stroll' from the DART station).

We quaffed a beer al fresco and then tucked into gorgeous home-made burgers with loads of home-produce accompaniments before retiring to the front room for chat (mostly us boring Dave about the holiday) and a viewing of (most of) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. We needed to keep an eye on the clock so we wouldn't miss our DART, so had to give up before the movie reached the end. As usual, the walk to the station seemed shorter than the walk from there. We made it in time for a train going to Connolly but too late for one which would take me all the way home, so I picked up the car at Carl's place and drove home.

A really enjoyable day. I'd taken a shot of Dave on the iPhone which I considered using as today's blip, but the man himself didn't think it did him justice. Fortunately I also had the real camera with me, and I hadn't been able to resist the striking play of sunlight on these cushions which were scattered on the couch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.