Fur Seal at Kaikoura

I liked this image with the colours and light of this lazy Fur Seal enjoying the afternoon sun.

I think shes a female as Department of Conservation mentioned all the Fur Seals in the carpark are males, probably in first line of defence for the females and pups who are basking on the rocks. Ten metres was the distance to be kept between us and them. They appeared to be sleeping but its interesting to note that after looking at the many photos and cropping round their face they are actually watching with their eyes ever so slighly opened!! So maybe not as restful as we think they are!! One male had a big yawn, which I missed, but was keeping a close eye on me - I thought he was in a dreamy state but no - he was a little restless - I got my shots and moved on!!!

Our last full day here in Kaikoura, a place of cafes, art, sculptures, history and bays with small boat ramps, sea trawlers, fishing boats, tourists and the tangent smell of the sea - I lapped it all up!!

Great in large :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.