Build them up and knock them down

There have been some good points to today!

Ben and I enjoyed playing with his building blocks this morning. I had to build them up - in ever increasing towers of complexity for him, and he brought his little red train around and gleefully knocked them down.

I'd been doing some reading over breakfast. Breakfast was not fun. But I read a blog post on playful parenting - about how, just by engaging with your child/ren rather than grumping at them (and grumping was exactly what I had been doing, to negative effect) it lightens the situation and actually makes a child more responsive and less irritating! And releases endorphins I imagine into your own system which will help bring stress down etc etc.

So I stopped grumping and started playing. And we had a lovely time. Then he shared my chocolate toast and had the BEST chocolate moustache I've seen on him in a while, and then he did a jigsaw pretty much by himself but I had to be down on the floor playing with him.

Lovely morning!

This afternoon I was off on my final insulin management session of the course. I am officially off the naughty step, having got my snacking / eating habits under control and insulin levels under control. Hurrah! And the icing on the cake was finding out my latest HbA1C test result was 6.5 which is absolutely fabulous really. It will be even lower next time hopefully! So the nurses and midwives have stopped fretting about me, which is what my aim was ;)

I celebrated by going to the supermarket (under the pretence of buying more houmous and salad stuff) and having a big slab of chocolate cake (dosed for, obviously) and a cup of tea. By myself.

It was lovely! hehehe

Off to pick Ben up from Hayley's now, and then back home for tea and to await the arrival of the builder chappie who is hopefully going to give us some quotes for various bits of work that need doing.

The day come good :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.