Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Bee-zy Day

I think this must be the first time we have come down from Edinburgh without stopping at Annendale Services. I had loved being there yesterday and taking lots of bird shots, thank you for your lovely comments.

The main event of the day, which had to be my blip, was the collection of a nucleus hive of bees. It won't be often in my life that I have this experience, if ever again. It was even more memorable than my visit to a camera shop and lunch at Loopy Lorna's.

Katkatkat had organised this with her friend M. We couldn't go close because we didn't have protective clothing. I will be sorting some gear out for myself soon. This shows one of the 5 frames heaving with bees that we transported home. At the age of 14 katkatkat was shown on TV helping her dad with bees on the intro to Junior Masterchef.

Back home we went up to our new hive at the castle and spent an hour transfering the 5,000+ bees from their transport box to their new hive. This involved shaking the bees off these frames, then cutting the size of the frame to fit our style of hive.

I would loved to have helped but all I could do was stand back and take photos to record the day's events for The Man.

Yes I did get the UV filter to protect my new lens and...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.