A time for everything

By turnx3

Spicebush swallowtail?

Saturday
Last night we had some friends staying overnight. We had known Jean and Ian, a South African couple, during the years we were living in France, from 1986 -96. They left before we did and returned to South Africa, and we hadn't seen them since. They are now living in Toronto and have two kids, and we had got back in touch through Facebook. They had driven down to Florida, and were then heading up to friends in Michigan, and looking at the map, realized the route took them through Cincinnati. We were thrilled to see them again after all that time, and to finally meet their kids. They got to meet Laura, who was 5 when they last saw her - she's now 21!  This morning we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast together before they continued on their travels. Laura was going to be out with friends for the afternoon, so Roger and I decided to head out for a bike ride on the Little Miami trail. We went to a more northerly stretch of the trail for a change, starting at Spring Valley, and continued north through the town of Xenia, doing a total of 20 miles return. I captured this butterfly fluttering amongst some flowers just at the side of the trail soon after we started. It was another hot, humid day, and I felt quite limp starting off, but I did a bit better as I continued. It hadn't been a very good week on the exercise front, so I was determined to make it a decent ride. This evening we went out to eat at Aladdins, a Middle Eastern restaurant. Now I feel quite exhausted, so I think I shall be turning in soon and having an early night!

One year ago: Dragonfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.