an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Chewed & Digested

What a day, it started badly with annoying work problems which did not leave me well prepared for Daddy Day, especially such a high maintenance Daddy Day.

Baby had not slept all morning and so after intial buggy entry moans he went off to sleep. Toddler though was in the mood for walking and constant talking so we trooped off down to the shops with ears bending. We popped in a charity shop that seemed to contain the noisiest stuff and the noisiest staff, not good with a sleeping Baby who doesn't really like sleeping.

Firstly a lady picked up one of those toys with an annoying song that does not stop. I dived to cover Baby's ears whilst she fumbled about trying to contain the toy. Then one of the staff turned the radio in the back on very loadly and then started laughing like a nutter. As I tried to leave the shop another customer started up another singing something and then the whole front of the shop was howling away. So there I was stuck in the middle bit of the charity shop with, all the crockery, and no place to go. Then just as I was building up enough confidence to consider a quick, quiet departure Toddler set off a talking robot clock which I dived on to like a good soldier onto a grenade in a room full of civilians. After disarming the robot we charged out of the shop at speed swearing under my breath probably looking like one of the local shoplifters, but at least, still with a sleeping baby.

Just after this Toddler who usually has the bladder of an elephant needed a wee. So we headed into a pub that is usually quiet and has a bit disabled changing bit, that would not only suit Toddlers needs, but also fit in the buggy. I gave the barman my most sad dad face and told him I had a Toddler emergency on my hands. He was very helpful especially considering that as we went around the corner to the loo there was a coach party of old ladies having a luncheon club in that part of pub. And by the length of the queue to the toilet the wine had been flowing.

The Barman was great though and so were the ladies who let us jump the queue. Due to the sheer numbers of the grey army present there I could not get the buggy in the loo and so entrusted the least merry looking ladies to watch the sleepy Boy which they did well, partly because they could not actually get up to go and see him. Anyway Toddler did her thing and then we bumped our way through the crowd and all the sun soaking drinkers (oh those were the days) and back onto the streets. Toddler then turned to me and said "Daddy, I need another wee". I couldn't possibly go back in so we headed to the horrible publics down the road.

After this we headed to the new libary. We got there just as Baby woke, the new libary is great, it looks like a spaceship and the lighting is brilliant for pictures. It also has has a cafe and strong coffee was needed. We sat on the floor and read some books and then had to play the chase and grab Baby before he gets to the cafe over and over game until one of us submitted, and of course that was me. On the way out of the libary I snapped this shot of Toddler, in the rush I did not frame this one as well the rest or as I should have but it is still my favorite one of the day.

We then headed of the skatepark to watch the stunts through the fence and to eat yoghurty raisins. After a couple more toilet stops and Toddlers chatterbox still on full whack we got there and sat in the shade. Following this we headed for home via a fast charge around the Aquarium as per every Wednesday and another toilet attempt.
On the way back just as the little ones were starting to take part in a moment of calm we bumped into Wife which triggered them both to go supersonic all the way until we got home.

Its what Wednesdays were made for!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.