Mixer

This shot pretty much sums up my day today. Roz was in Kelso and MAddy was in Aberdeen. I was in the dining room.

Earlier in the week I had taken delivery of a pair of Technics turntables and a top of the line Pioneer mixer, shown here. They belong to a friend Craig and he doesn't have room for them in his house. He'd been storing them with a mate for a coupel of years but couldn't keep them there any more. I was asked if I'd look after them and jumped at the chance. Before Maddy came along I used to do a fair bit of DJ'ing. I ran a record shop selling House and Techno music with a friend and had a residency at a local club for a while. I haven't done any mixing in ages though.

Anyway I got them set up last night and today started getting back into it. It didn't take very long to get back into the swing of things with beat mixing but the bit that will take a fair bit of practice to regain is bringing records in and out smoothly. It never used to be a problem but it's definetely not as easy as it used to be.

I'll have lots of fun practicing though.

I also managed to get the mixer hooked up to the laptop so once I've polished up my skills I'll be able to record the mixes as mp3s or CDs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.