Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Sleepy Men!

This was the sight that greeted me this morning when I opened my study door! They were both still half asleep when this picture was taken, and they just looked SO cute, curled up together in their tent! A few moments after this picture was taken, Charlie yawned - I've never managed to capture a rat yawn on camera, but I can assure you, it's the cutest thing ever!

I went down to breakfast with a big smile on my face! Bless my gorgeous little men!

After the bus stop run I did 50 lengths of the lido - in wild and blustery conditions - the wind was really whipping up waves on the surface of the pool!

The rest of the day has been spent catching up on admin tasks. My e-mail was down to start with, but returned, which was good. Google+ have suspended me because they don't like me using Viola Maths as my name - I'm trying to decide whether to bother changing it or just pack it in for now - a job for another day in any case.

I also had a long phone conversation with the Open University - both an educational adviser from the maths department and someone at the registry. Both were really really helpful - I've now changed my future study plans in the light of the fees increase. It's sad, but the government's withdrawal of funding from universities basically means the OU's ethos as an "open" university is over - they are forced to charge higher fees in order to make ends meet, which is fine if you're doing a first degree and can take out a low-interest loan that you don't need to pay back until you're earning 21K (a salary I can only dream of), but I'm ineligible for all that sort of funding since I already have a degree. I don't actually study in order to get qualifications - I have those coming out of my ears - I do it because I enjoy learning and my passion is information and education and so on. The good news is that between me working with the website, the maths adviser, and the young man from the registry, we worked out what I need to do in order to be able to complete what I've started and also the statistics diploma I'm hoping to do before the fees price me out of the market. As ALWAYS, whenever I contact them - the OU were absolutely brilliant.

As I said to the Wonderspouse, once study becomes too expensive for me, I shall have to get a new hobby. He said I didn't need more hobbies!

What I really need, all the time of course, is more TIME!!!!

Of course, I could save loads of time by not writing essays with every blipfoto I post, but I've become used to it - I've kept diaries twice before in my life, but they've never really stuck - I've always got bored and wandered off to do something else. Seem to have stuck with this photojournal thing though!

Anyway, better go and do a few more of the jobs, and if I get those done, I could always indulge in one of my far-too-many hobbies!

Or I might just go and play with the rats! Irresistible little chappies they are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.