Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Local Library

Today I went into a local library for the third time in about 15 years. I've spent so many hours in academic libraries during that time, but I hardly ever go to lending libraries these days - I haven't borrowed a library book since I was a child, and haven't used lending libraries regularly since borrowing cassettes during my student days.

I did go to a local library about 10 years ago for a job interview (I didn't get the job - apparently I was "overqualified"), and I went into one with my friend Mar, who was returning some books while I was with her.

Today I went into this one to do some voluntary work. I was teaching computing at the local job club! Yes, me, teaching computing! However, when I say "computing" I mean teaching those who had no experience of computers at all - my students are the sort of people who have never used computers, and need everything explaining from the beginning - even to the extent of needing to be shown how to click a mouse.

It really made me think about how much those of us who use the internet every day take for granted - how many skills and advantages we have that most people in the world do not. There are people living close to me who have never used or owned a computer, and for whom the world of the internet, social networking, online job applications, let alone iPads and so on is a strange and alien one. The job club aims to redress the balance, providing education and facilities for people who haven't had the advantages in life that we have.

I was happy to go and help. I've been given so much help myself over the last couple of years that it was nice to give something back. If they need me, I'll go again before I start my course. It also gives me confidence, experience of going out into the world and teaching adults, which will be valuable for me, and enables me to make contacts in an area in which I hope to be working as soon as I've finished my CELTA course.

I jolly well need to be working soon too - I was reminded of this when I did my accounts this morning! The good news was that the bank and I agreed on exactly how much I owe them!! ;-)

After I'd finished at the library I went to Scharwenka's for lunch and the afternoon. The Wonderspouse met me there early evening, and we did a bit of grocery shopping before coming home!

So I've been out all day, and at "work" this morning! I'm gradually getting myself back into the world, defining myself as a "well" person, rather than an ill one, putting the mania and depression of the last couple of years behind me, and rebuilding my working life.

It feels good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.