My Angle

By myangle

Dead Calm

The forecast for today was 15 knot south westerly early, easing later in the morning. Well, it was dead calm at 7am and has stayed that way all day. The forecast was wrong. Jo and I had commitments with her Dad today so I could only manage a few hours fishing early this morning. Better than nothing. Mind you, all I caught was a 3 inch long bream so it wasn't exactly riveting fishing. My friend Tony was with me and he was starting to look a bit bored.

We did see a small pod of dolphins though.

In the end I did a bit of exploring. The bay was so calm that I ventured into a few areas that I normally wouldn't. Checking out the various water depths on the sounder gave me a very good idea where I can fish in the future. Sadly we will be busy again tomorrow so I will have to restrain myself and aim towards next weekend...which will be a long weekend too.

As for this old boat. There are lots of these converted fishing trawlers around. People buy them up and convert them to bay cruisers. I shudder to think what the fuel consumption must be! I do like the near silhouette as it heads into the early morning sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.