Here we go again

Today I started work on my bike. The task ahead is to remove the head, barrel and piston and have them all checked for cracks. If you do a search for TT350 here in blipland you will see that I have been trying to get this bike running properly for a few years now. Ever since I bought it from my brother-in-law in fact.

In my hand is the biggest spanner in the toolbox. Not that I would use it on my bike's engine. I have very good precision tools for that. Mind you the operator is a bit of a tool too.

I was recently purchasing a second hand carby from a wreckers and the bloke selling it to me asked me to describe the bikes problem. I did and he promptly refused to sell me the carby. He didn't want to sell me something I didn't need. Apparently he has seen a lot of these bikes with cracked heads. A fairly common occurence because the valves sit so close to the sparkplug opening. Over time hairline cracks appear along the sparkplug opening thread.

So what have I get to lose. I have spent a truckload of money on this bike anyway. Besides, I like to tinker with it. On top of that I can journal it in my blip over the next few weeks. If you are interested you can follow an in depth look here on Flickr.

It's nearly lunchtime here and we are about to head off to some friends for a lunchtime BBQ. As luck would have it they live just two streets up. I will walk up there and most likely return with my wobbly boots on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.