Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

North of Brocolitia

I had a great day today, doing a recce for "North of Brocolitia", one of the walks in the Haltwhistle Autumn Walking Festival. It's an 11 mile walk (Oct 11th if you fancy coming) and most of it is on seldom trodden rights of way. Why are they seldom trodden you ask? Might be something to do with the rough terrain and the clarts......!

This is definitely a walk for experienced walkers who do not mind a bit of mud, and the rest of it. The views to the north and east are glorious. Today there were buzzards mewing overhead and the sheep and cows are clearly not used to visitors.

I chose this image because it give some impression of the wide open spaces, and because the clouds are so magnificent. At times the sky was inky blue but it did not rain until I was back in the car after 6 hours on my excursion (did include tea and cake at the Simonburn tearoom).

PS I note that a year ago today I walked 10 miles with the Haltwhistle group - it was a Wednesday - and we had tea in the garden here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.