Connor

A big day on the hill today and a good day. Beautiful blue sky, snow, iced puddles and ponds, good company and plenty of exercise. As usual I was humbled by the passion, care and integrity of the hunters I was with.

This is young Connor. He's a good boy, keen as and like a cross between a mountain goat and a machine in the outdoors. I sometimes forget he's only 12 years old.

I watched Connor today listening and learning from those older and more experienced than him. He takes the opportunities presented to him and shows maturity, decision making ability and respect for the environment and animals he hunts. He has a natural talent that shows as he moves with ease and is constantly on the look out for tracks and signs of pigs or other animals. Once home he's right in there cleaning up and doing whatever needs to be done.

Here he is carrying a gutted pig across his back over very rough country. He spent yesterday hunting with another guy who mentors and teaches him. I suspect Connor is now fast asleep now and I won't be far behind him.

The Fur Child was happy to see me late today. The one night I'm not here he had couple of nasty sizable aftershocks, both within a few kms of home. It wouldn't have been fun and he's staying close to me tonight.

Yesterday back blipped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.