Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Kid-Pile

"Love and work are the cornerstones of our humanness."

- Sigmund Freud


I was at a conference (though I would have said more of a workshop or perhaps symposium) today, focused on developing the acute community care teams in our areas. One of the speakers was a patient (sorry: "consumer"*) advocate, who gave a (rather good) talk about recovery. Recovery has been a big buzzword in psychiatry for quite some years now - and it's good stuff in the main: talking about living rather than just focusing on symptoms and disease. I agree that's what's more important. However...

As she was speaking she emphasised a couple of things that are most important: being able to love/be loved/relate to others; and being able to have real meaningful work. I was minded of the above quote from Sigmund Freud - he who is so often and loudly decried by many nowadays. He was talking about recovery long ago.

Nothing new under the sun, I guess. ;-)

My kids were having a mad old time this evening running around with teddy bears almost as big as themselves, and jumping all over each other. I liked this shot most particularly for my son's cheeky expression. 8) As I used the flash, everything off-centre was totally dark, and the image was quite cold and harsh. So I used a gradient mask to pull up the luminance curve for everything except the central kid-pile, and warmed up the white balance a little.

You might notice I've also changed the title of my Blipfoto journal: from simply "tsuken" (my online nick) to "Occasionally Focused". This is an in-joke for, well, me. ;-) Because they were both random and incoherently varied in substance, both my posterous and tumblr were called "Occasionally Focused". A while back, after I read The Name of the Rose, and found the archaic/Calvinist meaning of the word "reprobate", I changed them both to "Occasionally Reprobate". ;-) That of course left "Occasionally Focused" free for use elsewhere - and I decided to apply it here, where it gains a puntastic extra dimension. ^_^

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/6.30 : 1/59" : 15mm : ISO 100

Large version here.

Uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app


*Consumers buy refrigerators.

Lawyers and accountants have clients.

I'm a doctor, and I have patients.

Each term carries with it a specific set of expectations, rights, and responsibilities - for both parties. Only "patient" implies anything meaningful for healthcare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.