Have wheels, will travel

Why a blip of a car, I hear you ask. Well I don't have one. This is my dad's car. He's on holiday in France (currently sending the week-end near chaiselongue if my geography is right). Since I came back to Edinburgh in 2009 me, my mum, my sister, even my brother in law have been asking him to put me on his insurance but up till now he's resisted. I think he thinks I'm still 17 (oh that I was) instead of 3x+ that age. However, this time he has - maybe a combination of realising he may not be able to keep on driving for much longer and taking pity me on me having to travel round out of town shopping centres on buses.

So I have access to a free car and I'm making the most of it as I only have it till the end of next week. I also have the City Car Club car but it costs. The Car Club car is parked 2 mins away while free one is a 15 minute walk but hey ho. Today I followed that old Saturday ritual the out of town shopping centre. Fort Kinnaird for Boots, the Body Shop, Sterling, Martin Frost, B&Q (so like Castorama), then Cameron Toll for Sainsbury's (food, drink and cheap white crockery) and home via Homebase. The boot (miniscule), back seats and floor were full.

I've spent - I hate to think, but I'm now stocked up on Nescafe Gold Decaff, shower gel and face wash. I have drink and some food for tomorrow's little 'party' and loads of bulbs and some plants for the back green.

The downside of all this is living on the top floor. However, I've left the wine in the wine coal cellar and the garden stuff beside the back door

I'm embarrassed to say it took me a number of attempts to parallel park outside the flat (week-end, no meters). I took a lesson in parallel parking earlier this year - the crib sheet was NOT to hand.

So now I'm relaxing with a well-earned glass or two of viognier, grilled sea bass and 'Burn After Reading' which has been on the hard disc since April.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.