Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Broken Hose

Has it been a less hopeless day than yesterday?

Only sort of.

The Wonderspouse brought a colourful start to the day by swearing profusely at a bus that pulled away as we arrived at the bus stop - this, as I well know after nearly 10 years of marriage, is a sign that he is extremely stressed and hanging on by a thread.

I managed to do a bit of maths this morning, which was something. Maths is actually so much easier than life at the moment.

I also plugged in Scharwenka's old digibox (which was a challenge in itself - running out of sockets, so had to search for a bigger adapter) and attempted to find any signal. There still isn't any. We lose BBC2 tomorrow apparently. I could do without this stuff this week. At least I found the adapter. Whether we will be able to get BBC2 on it tomorrow, who knows.

Then I had to go to the doctor's. She had to check me out (apparently they have to do this from time to time). Apparently I'm obese (which I knew already, since my BMI is well over 30) and my blood pressure is raised (which I didn't know, but which is hardly surprising, given the way life feels at the moment). The blood pressure hasn't reached giraffic levels, but it was high enough for the doc to say "Hmmmm" and wiggle her eyebrows a bit and look up what it used to be.

So, in order to try to relax (and because the Wonderspouse had told me to) I went for a little walk after the appointment. Maybe that would help lower my blood pressure.

It probably did until I remembered I needed to go to the vet to collect Dexter's pills and had to pay £54 for them. There goes my ESA!

So then I went home, had some meat paste on toast, and promptly fell asleep.

When I woke, I painted my nails, which usually cheers me.

Then I thought I might just hoover the bedroom and landing. Not too much, just get it so it wasn't thick with cat hair, muck that's come in the windows, and dust, and some stringy bits from the rat cage that Moses chewed and so on.

My plan was just to tidy up sufficiently so the place looked vaguely OK, then to go in an afternoon bath with a book - an attempt to relax so I could then work on maths this evening and we could get to bed early.

But the hoover had other plans - the hose did this.

Of course, the hoover is so old that finding a spare isn't easy.

I think parcel tape or similar will have to be deployed.

But not today.

I lied about the amount I drink at the docs this morning, substituting the word "glass" for "bottle".

At this rate, I'll be substituting the word "glass" for "case"!

I think I'll stare into the rat cage for a bit now and see whether the men are in the mood to sit on my shoulders and wiggle their whiskers in my ears.

There is no longer time for an afternoon bath, and I can't start on the wine yet because I have to drive to the bus stop to get the Wonderspouse, so playing with rats is the most relaxing thing I can think of!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.