Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Next Challenge!

This week feels like "the last week" for me! Not the last week ever (I sincerely hope) but the last week I'm at home, not working, and still being technically "ill"! From next Monday, my integration back into the world of work begins.

It doesn't start with actually working (sorry bank account), but with the commencement of my CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults) course, which will mean I have to be a functional person, leaving the house 3 times a week to go to college. The course lasts 12 weeks, and I really hope I can then get a job teaching adults in the new year. I'm also planning to advertise for private students in maths and music, and to build my own tuition business up that way.

Anyway, that's for the future. I'm now starting to think about the course that starts next week, and to read the material they gave me after my interview and also look through these books - which are the course books I need. It all feels quite exciting, like a new start and a new opportunity.

Of course, even though the last assignment is in, the Maths isn't finished for this year yet - just three weeks until my exam, so I need to do revision (which mainly consists of working through loads of questions) as well as working on on my CELTA work.

It all feels exceedingly busy, but good busy.

This morning I finally cleared up my study, went through my in-tray, and dealt with a whole load of stuff that had built up. I also went into town to the bank and also to the post to post my registration documents for my next OU course (which is a language course - I'm starting my BA alongside the Maths BSc (interleaving the two) earlier than planned because this way I can get most of it done under the old fees structure - I'd always planned to study languages too, but if I leave it until later I'll have to pay exorbitant fees and I can't get a student loan because I already have a BMus degree).

Back at home I hoovered half of the downstairs and started to sort the dining table out, emptied the laundry basket and sorted it into piles (lights, darks, etc), installed my brother's old digibox on one of the downstairs TVs - we now have more channels available to watch in comfort from the sofa!

I also investigated digital DVD recorders and so on. We're going to HAVE to do something soon because video tape is almost impossible to buy for any reasonable price now - it might work out cheaper to get a DVD recorder with digital. I shall keep investigating - it's all rather annoying since our old stuff still works perfectly well, but is almost obsolete simply because they've stopped making the stuff to go with it.

In other news, my thumb STILL feels sore from all last week's writing!

And I'm still waiting for the last 2 assignments back. I've started waiting for the postman... just in case...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.