Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Patchwork Bedspread

One of the results of The Great House Sort has been the unearthing of all sorts of things that were long forgotten about. One of those things is the bedspread I started making about six months before we were married (therefore nearly 9 years ago now).

As you can see, I set off on the project with considerable enthusiasm, but never finished it. Since my Mum has now made us a rather splendid bedspread (a picture of which can be seen here) we have no need of a bedspread on our bed. However, I think I may resume this project with the hope that it will be finished and can be used as a bedspread on the newly installed spare bed!

I'm quite terrified by the organizational abilities I obviously had when I designed this thing 9 years ago - all squares cut and labelled, the whole project planned down to the nth degree. I've managed to interpret all my plans quite easily and sewed a couple of squares this morning. I'm also rather amused to note that the paper squares are cut from old printouts of school reports for the place I used to teach!

I wonder whether I'll finish it - it'll certainly give me plenty to do through the winter evenings. Mind you, I'm also hoping to knit a poncho, do a few sewing repairs, make a patchwork pouffe, finish the cardboard space station, construct the Airfix Saturn V and the Revell B-1B Lancer, upholster a couple of armchairs (if I ever figure out where they would fit into the house), and sand and paint a stool and a shelf unit, as well as getting a job, getting fit, doing practice, resuming maths study, learning languages, and reading the "to be read" pile of books on the landing.

I'm not one to sit doing nothing if I can help it!

In other news - Dexter's out and about again, exploring and being cuddled! We're having another lazy day (i.e. the Wonderspouse is writing and making bread, I'm doing study admin, project organization and housework, and we'll both sleep through A View to A Kill shortly!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.