Hog in the hedge

Best viewed hog in the hedge large!

Minding my own business, trying unsuccessfully to photograph a red admiral, from the corner of my eye I noticed a medium sized prickly object running past me & into the garage... a hedgehog! Of course, I know we have hedgehogs, as I feed them every night & have done so for the past 3 years... Trouble is, it can't stay in the garage as there's no way in order it to get out once the door is shut. Although it did stop & look at me, I took it's picture... DAMN BLAST CURSE IT! Wrong BLOOMING setting! I was on M????? It came out as a black screen!!!!

Never mind... So I went & got the log burner gloves & picked it up from the corner it had wedged itself in (naturally it curled into a ball), so it was a bit of a tug of war moment to get it out... I did & I popped it under the hedge & left it.

An hour or so later, I heard it rustling through the bottom hedge, so I stalked it... as one does... finally it popped it's little head out at the bottom of the hedge & sniffed the air - hey presto a photo at last! Then it came further out...

Nice little leaf head garment

Very loooooooooooong hedgehog

But I went with the hedge shot as it was so sweet looking out amongst the foliage!

Way before I had already taken my blip of the day:

Male common red darter by the pond

A blipper once asked me if I live in a nature reserve, well YES is the answer! Hogs are not meant to be around in daylight hours, but I think they're preparing for their long winter hibernation, so are foraging 24/7 - or just being cheeky 24/7. The first ever hog I saw was 3 summers ago amongst the lupin flowers, so all hedgehogs now seen in the garden are called 'Lupin' :)

Charlie again fast asleep on my bed today:

Please do not disturb

Thanks to all the lovely comments for yesterday's Friends - we have been invited back when the horses are used for ploughing the fields soon... so expect more from Commodore et al! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.