Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Don't mention the:

I couldn't resist. Come on I've had a german national living at my house for around two weeks and I haven't once furnished her with the stereotypes of the German people. Last night the gloves came off.

Apparently it isn't compulsory to have a rubbish moustache from the age of 30 in Germany, and they think we steal all the sunbeds!!! Unbelievable.

I did learn that if a late night / early morning session of cards goes against certain Germans they tend to throw the cards across the table in protest. hence this blip of cards on the floor.

Not just any cards either.... my Lincoln City Legends deck. Previous to Barbies visit I had only cracked these babies out once. That resulted in a game of poker being abandoned after my ex Kelly saw fit to bend the corner of my 'Roger Holmes' (or 6 of Diamonds). Since then they have stayed away, but seeing as the King of Diamonds has gone from my regular deck, these bad boys got another.

Shortly after my European guest elected to give me a free round of 52 card pick up, Zanna thought it hilarious to knock a can of Carlsberg over and watch the liquid gently make it's way towards Gareth Ainsworth (10 of something). I did what any self respecting host would. I kicked off.

Technically I wasn't last nights host. ZnK cooked for Barbie as originally she was going home today. However the nasty spirits (see yesterdays back blip) put paid to any degree of sense this morning, and so the Anglo-German blipmeet has a additonal bonus day attached to it. I suspect it'll be spent in the vicintity of the TV but within fairly easy reach of a toilet pan.

In other news I have an interview. I banged about 10 cv's out on Monday or Tuesday (all blurs into one when you're a bum like me) and got a reply yesterday from Jewsons. They're looking for someone with Builders Merchant experience (naturally) and I fit the bill (according to my cv) so it's on for Monday.

In seriousness I feel fairly confident about it. I was offered a job there in 2006 but opted to stay at my old place for another five years. I kinda know the whole merchanting thing: it's been a few years since I've turned my hand to it, but it's the fact I once did that counts.

I'm going to have to start shaving and cutting my hair again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.