Can I make you a coffee?

They said no. That is the blokes sent by EQC to assess my home for earthquake damage.

EQC is the Earthquake and War Commission. If you have home and contents insurance your premium includes a levy to EQC for the sort of event(s) we've had over the past year. Depending on a number of factors damage is covered by just EQC or a mix of EQC and your insurance company.

This is my second full assessment, the first one in January put to one side because of damage from the February earthquake. They were thorough, professional, easy to deal with and it was good to see them. ipads made their job easier. Such a different experience to dealing with EQC on the phone or by email.

A report on my damage will be sent to Fletchers Construction who are contracted to fix damage in the $10,000 - $100,000 category. Surprisingly since I don't have structural damage I'm close to the middle of that amount.

At some point (I'm hoping later rather than sooner) I'll be contacted by Fletchers and we'll sort a date and work out if I live in a building site or shift out with the fur child going to the 5-star cat hotel for an extended stay.

I'm encouraged and reassured to know my home is strong and they felt safe in it. They assured me I'd even be safe in an earthquake in the loft space. That's not an experience I'm planning on.

It took 1.5 hours and I was at my desk a few minutes after 10am.

EQC came into being after the 1931 Napier earthquake. This past year has been the first big dip into the billions collected over the years.

It seems this seismic sequence is going to empty the coffers. Definitely a case of first up, best dresssed (or first shaken, best fixed).

Yesterday's blip - passing the white gate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.