The one that got away ... just

I got up a little later than planned this morning. I was a bit of a mess; dropping things, bumping into things, tripping over the dog.

I went outside to clear up the dead bird that Pio had left outside the door. As I was doing so, a rather furtive looking Pio ran across the garden; a second bird in his mouth.

Cousteau and I followed him. The poor thing was still alive, so I urged him to just finish what he'd started. All I could see were the wings and tail poking out of his mouth at this point.

He just sat there. I got my gardening gloves and carefully prized the wee bird out of Pio's mouth. I had a mind to put it out of its misery, but couldn't bring myself to do it, when a weak chirp came from my hand.

I brought it inside and put it in a box with a little water. I sat next to it, feeling sure that it would die.

About half an hour later, it took a little water from my finger and looked a bit brighter. It chirped at me again and was able to keep its eyes open and look around.

Then it started flying around the laundry. I didn't want it to be spooked any further, so I picked it up gently and went outside. It sat on my finger for a wee while. Then I popped it on a flimsy branch - here - (one I know the cat can't get to). It looked around, sang a little bit, fluffed up its feathers and flew away over the house.

I don't know if it will live or die later from the stress of its ordeal, but I like to think that it will be okay.

Then I went to work and spent the whole day tidying and cleaning up. I'll go back in tomorrow.

As for tonight, well, my to do list has about 20 things on it, so I'll be starting on those.

Feeling pretty headachy and grouchy, so I'll leave you for now.

Byeeeee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.