Aldi and Me

This is Aldi the Sun Conure. He is staying with us for a month while his owners are away. Being a vet nurse and working at the local vet surgery, people occasionally ask Jo to look after their pets while they are away. She only does bird care though because we have some parrots of our own so it isn't all that hard to take on a few extra birds. Most of the birds (and most other animals) respond well to Jo.

Then there is Aldi. The moment I walked in the door and he saw me he started making cooing noises. Most of the time he just screeches. He actually likes me. No, he loves me. I was able to scratch his head from day one while it took Jo nearly two weeks to gain his confidence. That is something of a breakthrough for me. I normally steer clear of those big bitey beaks.

Anyway, today after two weeks of building up courage I took Aldi out of the cage and allowed him to sit on my shoulder near some tender bits of my ear. He doesn't like the camera. I earned a few swift but gentle nips for pointing the camera in his face. Even when Jo took this photo he wasn't too happy.

Having him out on my shoulder made my day anyway. He goes home in two weeks so I had better make the most of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.