You Called?

Best viewed you called large

Oh this dear sweet robin of mine (ours!)... what a drama he put me through! I saw him twice, he came down for worms. Then I went into my studio to work on a series of new paintings. The wind got up, it was very very cold when I had finished. At 5pm I went to call him... no sign. It got darker & darker... I called constantly, nothing!

Then a robin did appear, but it wasn't him. It was scared of me. It came close then flew away, then it came close & flew away. At this point I had began to despair. I called his name & this other robin appeared. It could have been Larry Legs, but I'm not entirely sure.

I looked high & low for Lil' Larry, I even went out of the front gate & searched his usual hedges, calling his name. But to no avail. Finally I gave up & sorrowfully went inside. I thought I saw him from my study window & ran outside... but there was no sign.

At 6pm, it was raining, windy, dark - I went out again & called his name. Still that same robin. I watched him for a bit & asked it 'where's Larry?' & then I turned round & THERE SAT LITTLE LARRY behind me! Who then saw the other robin & chased him away! Then he was back, had some worms. I told him I loved him, that he wasn't to do that to me again. Tears ran down my face as I kept telling him to stay safe, but always come back to me. He stood there, stuck his red breast out, cocked his head & stared straight back at me. I do believe he understood every word I said! Then he bounced a few times like a wren would do & flew up into the branches & looked at me from up high, whistled quietly & then flew away. It was his goodnight I think.

Anyhow! Charlie:

Black to Black

Thanks for all the comments from yesterday's Larry at Lunch. The weather looks grim for the rest of the week, a bit of sunshine, but a cold biting wind, so not wonderful for photography. I'll be busy in my studio now, so Lil' Larry will be blipped - a lot! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.