Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Blipmeet and Carnival Mask

- Backblip -

LadyFindhorn was sheltering in the pouring rain as my taxi dropped me off at the Blipmeet point (Thanks Dad). We spent a very pleasant morning at the Dower House, taking tea and sampling quality shortbread. His Lordship arrived back, drenched from a successful shopping expedition, and after some time discussing family history matters, he disappeared behind THE door.

This is the fourth time LadyFindhorn and I have met, and all because of Blipfoto we are becoming good friends.

After goodbyes and another soaking, I headed for the newly refurbished National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street. I have visited many times before, but apart from missing the costume displays, I was not disappointed. My only criticism would be that the display cases need more of a daily clean. Too many finger marks for my liking, especially at "must see" items e.g. the Lewis Chessmen.

So near, yet so far with a second Blipmeet, as caffeinated was also there today. We have never met, but follow each others journals on a regular basis.

Several favourites to choose from, however this splendid Venice Carnival Mask has won the entry for today. Zaga E Molin' design, created in Italy c.2005. It can be found in a display case on Level 3 in the "Performance and Lives" section.

I wandered around the new areas, and finished up amongst the work of one of my favourite artists, Andy Goldsworthy, to be found in "Early People" section.

Thanks to my superb taxi service, I got home with dry feet, unlike many others. The roads were like rivers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.