PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Singing in the Shower?

A Sunny Day on the Chess Board

Everybody's ready for the chess game to begin,
But somebody is missing - and that Somebody's - the king!
"He sat with me at breakfast," the queen informs The Board,
"A boiled egg and soldiers - a breakfast he adored."

"But, after that ..." she carries on,"I don't know where he's gorn."
"Perhaps he's abdicated," says a rather cheeky pawn.
"I'll have to go and look for him. Don't fret yourself, my flower,"
A kindly bishop offers. "P'raps he's singing in the shower?"

The other king grows fretful. "This waiting jars my nerves.
I've a mind to start without him, and he'll get what he deserves!"
But soon the bishop's back again and so's the missing king:
"I forgot about our battle, I've been playing on my swing!"

And, far from looking mortified, the king explains, with glee,
"Chess is best for rainy days; it's sunny now, you see."
"By George, he's right!" the other king cries out, and leaves the board.
And that is why, on sunny days, few victories are scored.

poem © Celia Warren 2011

This is the latest in a series of adventures of my chessmen. Catch up with previous adventures here:

The Chessmen's Holiday

Chessmen in the Garden

Fool's Mate

Wedding on the Chessboard

Secret Moves

Chessmen at the Zoo

Gone Fishing

The Artist

Two Bishops in Bed

RIP (TNT)

and

A Drive in the Country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.