an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Bubbles

I was woken very early this morning when Baby went "ARRRGH" and jumped on me. He thought this was great, I was not too sure. Luckily his energy held through as he had another very good swimming lesson this morning. After swimming we popped to a jumble sale or "jungle sale" as Toddler called it.

No sooner had we got there than did we want to leave. It was rammed with the Rude Pensioners of Portsmouth Association who were acting like a new Primart had opened. At one point Baby, buggy and I were pinned between an old lady and an old man who tried to get to a table top by going through us. Both asked if I wanted to move out to gain a vantage point, I said yes, but both refused to move and simply pushed on forward. I wandered out announcing how bloody rude the grey army are. I even had a good mind to ask for my forty pence entry fee back, but I think I would have probably not looked the bigger man then.

After lunch we headed out to an Autumn fair that too was full of oldies but these seemed nicer, probably because they were full of tea and cake and being distracted by the ukulele band. Whilst this was going on we had a wander round and bought some raffle tickets before taking the little ones down to the kiddy crafy bit were Toddler was mesmerised by the bubbles.

At raffle draw time I headed upstairs to see if we were going to be lucky. There were tons of prizes on offer from chocolate fingers to tickets to go up the tower. The draw was quite odd as they had to tombolas, one to pick the prize and then another to pick the winner of that prize. Most were won by the bingo goers but early on we got lucky and won, though sadly the prize was a knitted blanket.

After I collected our prize I watched the rest of the raffle go off listening to the grumbles of the losers around me. None seemed bothered about any particular prizes but simply needed to win. Whilst I was watching this an old lady approached me. I got my elbows up just in case she was one of the vicious lot from earlier in the day.

I needn't have worried as it turned out that she was the knitter of my blanket and wanted to see if I had children who would use it. Not wanting to appear ungrateful I said I did have children. She was enquiring, as if we did not want it she was going to offer to buy it from me as she knits stuff for a local disabled charity and would give it to them for fundraising.

I told her that was lovely and I have a family member who does the same. We then discussed the soaring price of wool before I insisted she took the rug for the charity and instead of giving me any money to give it to them. She still tried to pay me but unlike earlier in the day I was not going to be intimidated by the elder and refused.

So we all won, she got her blanket, a good cause get some money, my faith in old people was restored and I did not get a bollocking from Wife for winning something else that we did not need that would aid the fill of our house even more.

Thank goodness I didn't win the knitting machine!

-------------
I have back blipped for yesterday due to broadband issues and also added some Toddler activity from Wednesday that I original forgot to add.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.