A comma in the right place

Best viewed large

See the first sight of sunshine, the first feel of Autumnal warmth & the butterflies are out on the wing again. The sun is just so important. As are late flowering dandelions. This is straight from the camera, no editing... but I upped the colour tone, sharpness, contrast & saturation on the actual camera itself - who the hell needs photoshop when you have it all on your camera I ask you?! ;-) It was a rather small comma butterfly, in fact the smallest I've seen. I once asked my mate Chris Packham (he's a naturalist, wildlife presenter & photographer in case you don't know him) about why some butterflies are small & others large, even within the same species. He said it was due to how much food they had found as caterpillars... it makes you think... PLANT MORE NECTAR FOR BUTTERFLIES! They need it ALL year round, if it's a mild winter, you're still likely to see the odd butterfly, in the UK, red admirals will be around all year, within every season! :)

Little Larry graced me with his presence as ever, he really is truly something:

Tip-top bird!

I walked down the lane to take some pictures of a loaded holly tree full of berries:

This is the view from the field

Then as ever the wind picked up as soon as I attached my macro, but it gave me some:

Abstract shots of dew on the leaves in one of the flower beds

Charles was certainly around today, happy in the sunshine:

Classic Charles

Thank you for all the lovely comments from yesterday's Listening Larry - as you can see from the above link, the boy is very well, he sang in muffled tones to me this afternoon, high above in the branches... so I said "sing up lad, sing up!" & he did! :)

I hope everyone is having a great weekend... I'll catch up with you guys during the small hours... as is my habit now! :) But I promise gladders I'll try not make it so late again tonight lol xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.