A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Maintenance Month Continues

I dread to think how old some of that dust is. Theoretically it shouldn't be more than 4.5years which is about when we last moved house. But I suspect we brought some of it with us. Today my wardrobe has been attacked. Or sorted. Depending on your point of view. My (requested) birthday present from Carl was a morning with a personal stylist who has been around and helped me face up to my bad purchasing decisions and my hankering for my early 20s and the 1990s. Actually even further back, today I have parted with items of clothing that I have owned since the 1980s. And not cool, vintage ones that are ever going to come back in a groovy, retro way. Just ones that I have been too sentimental to get rid of even though I don't wear them and they don't suit me. And they have literally just been gathering dust. So sentiment went out of the window and with it a mound of clothes. Quite extraordinarily liberating.

The only thing that sentiment wouldn't let me part with is my wedding dress. Though I may finally get around to getting a proper box to keep it in rather than just hoping the moths won't get it. Fortunately they seem to have left it alone so far but I probably should look after it if I'm going to keep it. Though I don't know why I am keeping it. Other than that it feels the right thing to do. I did have a sneaky trying on of it which just reminded me of how much I love it and loved wearing it. Of course I am not planning on wearing it again. Though I do occasionally think of planning a trip to Las Vegas purely as I think it is the only place you hang around in a wedding dress without being stared at.

In other exciting maintenance news the third bottle of chemicals finally did the trick and the kitchen sink is now unblocked.

The final, and most important task of the day, is to remember to take on the role of tooth fairy. Perhaps I should wear my wedding dress.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.