Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Wal-Mart Victim

This corner market was a hopping place when I first moved to Arizona.  Every time I passed it on the road up to Tucson there would be plenty of cars out front. But then a Super Wal-Mart was built a couple miles west of it, where a wider variety of groceries were available -  at much cheaper prices.  This little store was doomed. It's been vacant now for about four years. Now the only action it sees is the Sahuarita police parked in the lot waiting for speeders and red light runners.

It's not the only store that Wal-Mart drove away.  It put a family-owned Tucson chain branch of a small supermarket out of business, too, limiting competition in our small town.

I refuse to buy groceries at Wal-Mart and only shop there for other things when absolutely  necessary (after I've scoured the town).  I don't like their labor practices. I drive the 10 miles down the interstate to a union shop to buy groceries at higher prices rather than shop at Wal-Mart or shop at another union establishment in town.

It's one thing to have principles.  It's another thing to live by them.

Dress rehearsal for the fashion show and luncheon for my women's  political club is today and the event is tomorrow.  I don't know if I'll be be taking any pictures at the event.  I'll try to remember the camera.  I'll be so nervous!

As the president, I have to give the opening welcome and then remarks saluting veterans, since it is Veteran's Day weekend.  Fortunately, there will be a podium so I can have things written down, but as most good public speakers do, I'll have to look at my notes as infrequently as possible.  Good thing there is a dress rehearsal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.