Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Run Through

It was time for our final run through for our Women Make a Difference Fashion Show and Luncheon.

The beginning music to Billie Jean by Michael Jackson begins to play, (thump, thump..thump, thump)   I snap my fingers and move to the music on my way to the microphone on  stage from my seat in the audience.  The music fades...

I give my opening remarks, introducing VIPs in the audience then give a tribute to the vets.  Lead everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance then I'm done and people eat lunch.

Cut to show.  Denise, in the background, is the producer/director.  She ran everyone through their paces today.  Vince, on the left, is the MC.  He's a well-known Democrat in the state.  A big draw for us.  He was in the primary for AZ Attorney General in 2010.  He lost to the woman who is a model in our show.  She's going to wear a psychedelic 60's outfit.  She's outlandish and having a good time with it.  She wore it in the dress rehearsal and really grooved in it big time.

Most of the models didn't wear their outfits during today's run through. This model, my friend Marla, is a State Committee Person.    Each one of the models picked their own music to walk down the ramp.  We have everything from a Mexican freedom song to a traditional Tohono O'odom Indian chant to I am Woman by Helen Reddy.

The Grande Finale is going to be spectacular.  The models are going to come out on stage flinging bras over their heads to the song We are Family  then move down the ramp and into the audience to Man in the Mirror, then fling the bras into the audience.  

The audience will be encouraged to stand, clap, move to and sing the lyrics to the song which will be projected on two big screens.  (I really got into it during the practice).

When the song gets near the end and says "Change Make that Change" the models will shout it and "VOTE IN 2012" (and that will all be projected on the big screens). The lights will go dark for a split second then up again and the show is over.

It's going to be one helluva production.  I took this picture of the run through and not the show because I just want to be able to sit back and enjoy it and not be fiddling with my camera trying to get a good blip.

We're just going to break even on this because we only sold half (about 200) the tickets we were hoping to sell.  But the economy is bad and we were doomed from the start.  We're just going to let loose, hope all goes as planned and have some good old-fashioned fun.

Wish me (and us) luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.