Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

The escape...

I know so many people who eat lunch at their desk...yeah, Im not one of those people...I need that hour of mental escape...just get out of the office...away from the blackberry/computer/phone/email/ demands...people!!!!

Weather is a little hot today - but we decided to eat outside and watch the kids run through the sprinklers. Took a few shots, I'll upload them tonight. They really looked like they were having fun...oh, to be young again. Its quite entertaining to watch them...

I was craving Italian today...like I dont eat enough of it ;) I desperately wanted a margarita pizza - your classic Italian...fresh tomatoes, basil, and mozzarella. We put our order in...waiter comes back...they have no tomatoes! Grrrr...apparently every tomato in the US has been thrown away due to the salmonella outbreak. I cant find tomatoes anywhere! Even the local farmers are sold out. I cant imagine a world w/ out tomatoes...

Settled on my favorite dish...Pasta Brio...named after the restaurant. I actually forced the chef to give me the recipe a few years ago...I tend to do that often...sometimes a simple compliment will do, but at times, they just dont want to give up their recipes and I have to get a little rough ;) Glad I got this one...I make it quite often. The recipe below is for one serving - adjust to how many you need. The roasted red pepper sauce is just amazing - make sure you use the same brand of alfredo and marinara.


PASTA BRIO WITH ROASTED RED PEPPER SAUCE
CHEF JOSH KENNOWEG, BRIO TUSCAN GRILLE (serves 1)

½ fl. oz. olive oil
½ tsp. chopped fresh garlic
1 tsp. butter
4 fl. oz. sliced crimini mushrooms (or also known as baby bella)
3 oz. thinly sliced grilled chicken (randomly cut)
6 fl. oz. roasted red pepper sauce
2 fl. oz. romano cheese
½ tsp. chopped parsley
1 pinch salt and pepper
7 oz. cooked rigatoni (I use penne)

Heat oil in pan and sauté garlic, chicken and mushrooms for 1 minute. Add red pepper sauce, butter, parsley and parmesan romano cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Add hot pasta and toss. Place in pasta bowl and serve.

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce
1 jar alfredo sauce + 1 jar marinara sauce + 1 - (16oz) can roasted red peppers

Open jar of oven roasted red peppers and drain. Add alfredo sauce, marinara sauce and peppers together. Blend together using a hand held mixer or blender.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.