Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Red Splash

I've scoured the internet trying to identify this pretty plant that I found this morning in Madera Canyon. But to no avail. I do know that it's a bush that grows under oak trees and is drought resistant, as are most of the native bushes up there.

It was a quick trip because I went early, it was cold and I got my blip pretty quickly. So I really didn't hang out in the park much today. I have other commitments so I can't have quite as lazy a day as I had yesterday.

This splash of red among all of the green foliage, brown tree trunks and grey rocks really stood out. It was eye-popping.

Edit: If you look at it in large you'll see that the red is made up of little buds of leaf-like flowers, not berries.

Definitely returning for an encore tomorrow. Might wait until it's warmer in the day. It is going to be seventy-seven degrees and sunny. Pretty nice for a walk in the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.