A One Woman Protest

This morning it was more than overcast when I woke up; it was raining. I chose against a run, and spent the first part of the day sorting things before we returned to Auckland in time for S to attend her weekly yoga session. Then a busy time with getting a new letterbox for the beach house and making other necessary purchases before it was time to collect Mr H from school.

Late in the afternoon I headed off for the daily run, a relatively short circuit on local streets. As I came through Grey Lynn Village (the shopping centre near here) I saw heading the other way a woman riding her bicycle and wearing a gas mask and her protest smock. I have been seeing her on local streets for many years now, and most recently have seen her paused at a particular street corner, at a time not unlike when I saw her this evening.

So I went in that direction, and saw her arrive at the corner. Approaching (walking), I saw her take off the mask and carefully place it in protective wrapping. Rather than take pictures from the other side of the street (my initial thought), I approached her and asked if she would mind if I took her photo. She was happy to oblige. The first picture was of her from the front and also shows the bicycle. I then asked if I could record her protest sign, and she was pleased to say yes.

This is it. Other words have emblazoned a similar smock in previous years, and the content made as little apparent sense to me then as this does now.

I thanked her and finished my run.

I should note that when she is cycling, the gas mask, a scarf and the hat, plus goves means that she is essentially fully covered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.