Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

In Itself

"Time has no meaning in itself unless we choose to give it significance."

- Leo F. Buscaglia


On the way to work I pass by what Doli has informed me is/was Mount St Mary's College and Convent. There should be useful material for numerous blips in this old building; I think it looks really fascinating.

Here's today's effort: I liked the visual effect of this tree paralleling the tower. I wasn't sure whether to go B&W or colour. In the end I plumped for B&W. I did the conversion with green filter at 90-something %, red at 50%, and blue pretty much at zero. I sharpened it a bit, and then added a duplicate layer set to overlay, with opacity around 50%. I thought about cropping out the bit of fence visible at bottom right, but decided against it in the end - I think it would have made the image too squat, and composed all wrong.

The quote reflects (maybe) ;-) both the passage of time clearly visible, and the significance attached to this as a Heritage building.

Large version here.

Unprocessed version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.