Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Madera Canyon

The fifth and last in my series of my ventures to the Coronado National Forest and Madera Canyon that began with The Long and Winding Road.

Go Big

It wasn't as cold this morning as it was yesterday but it was starting to become overcast. Fortunately, the clouds seemed to be moving in from every direction except from the east, so there was plenty of sunlight.

There are eight species of oaks in Arizona. All of them can be found here. Seven of them are deciduous - they only lose their leaves in the spring when they are replaced with new leaves. They are green year round.

Only the Gambel Oak changes colors and loses it's leaves. So the colorful foliage you see is definitely provided by the Gambel.

This week has been the most enjoyable week for me since I started blipping. I took some wonderful photographs. I got outdoors and walked through beautiful places and breathed fresh mountain air. I put myself into an ecosystem completely different from the one I live in every day, which is not something people often get to do.

I will return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.