Wharariki

Botanical name: Phormium cookianum
Maori name: Wharariki or Mountain Flax

The strong stem with many buds of our New Zealand native mountain flax - Wharariki. Its different to Harakeke with having greenish, yellow or orange flowers and is a smaller plant. The seed pods are also different as the Harakeke stand upright while the Wharariki hang down and gently curl with age. The Maori used the leaves of the flax to weave  a kete (Maori basket), when dried it has a slight yellow colouration. Other varieties of this flax were used to make toys and Maori skirts. Some of the leaves have strong blades and dry naturally to a deep green colour or to a pale greenish-fawn after being boiled for a minute.

We woke to rain again which cleared but leaving behind a strong cold wind for some of the day. The sun has popped in and out with bursts of light flickering through the garden. Mum and I went to Christchurch to grocery shop today and stopped on the way home for a cuppa and bite to eat.

I enjoyed reading your comments in the early hours of this morning and to those of you who asked about my writing, no I have never considered taking it further and I'm not sure about taking my rose photos to be published either but your all so kind and full of encouragement and who knows what the future holds eh - thank you for all of your words, stars and favourites, they are truely appreciated.

Well, not sure I'll get many comments done tonight, my eyes are tired after the early morning starts and the wind today has just topped them off, they're quite sore at the moment - I'm also finding I'm starting to droop about 4pm which I guess adds up considering I'm rising at 3.30am but who knows I may just get an extra burst after I've had tea tonight.

We're on the down hill slide to the weekend - hope your all having a great week and keeping warm for those of you experiencing snow, ice and frosts.

Better fly :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.