Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Cacti Blankies

This is the view of part of the backyard where I have my cacti covered with various pieces of sheets, towels and wash cloths.

The white blob in the lower right corner is actually a sheet covering a tall Arizona Sonita cactus. The tall plant in the distance is the Argentine Toothpick.

A little while back I showed you some late blooming buds from a Red Yucca. That's the plant in the center with the wooden looking rods sticking out of it.
From Spring into the Fall, they are green and full of the red buds.

Moments after I took this photo, I cut the stalks off at the base, making way for the new growth in the Spring. It is always a mystery as to how many will rise out of the plant with the new growth. One year I had two. This year I had seven. The hummingbirds love the buds.

Hopefully, I will be able to uncover the plants tomorrow. The low is going to rise to about 34F. That should get them out of the woods.

Getting the coverings off is a challenge. The needles go through even thick work gloves so I can touch only the outer edges of each covering. It's usually a prickly situation. (Did I really say that? *groans*)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.