Oranges are not the only fruit ...

I've recently read Jeanette Winterson's autobiography and I feel as though I could forgive her most things now I have a tiny inkling about into her upbringing. Though as she says, she wouldn't have become the person she is now if she hadn't had the upbringing she had! Oranges ... is the title of her first book which was also serialised for TV. I think I've said in a previous blip how much I enjoyed `Lighthousekeeping' - though our book group were not too sure!

Anyway, enough rambling - the oranges (or orange) is nothing to do with the book and the pattern was carved as I extracted the peel for my last fruit cake. It's been sitting in the fridge waiting to be made into fruit salad. Today was its turn, but I just had to photograph it first! In some ways it makes me think of the moon.

It's been wonderful to see blue sky today and my shopping trip was quite enjoyable. I've also managed to mix up some very expensive cookie dough ready for baking tomorrow. I'm hoping to have enough cookies to share between the book group Christmas get together and the inter-club photographic competition.

Why do things always end up being on the same day!

... and I've also managed a short walk later on this afternoon. My pre-Christmas resolution - to get back into the habit of walking regularly, even if it isn't very far.

The wind was very cold, but the walk enjoyable for all that.

Sorry about missing commenting yesterday - I am aiming to catch up shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.