Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Woodpecker-Zen

Sometimes, the little downy woodpeckers hang out for awhile after they've filled up on suet, and this was such a day. This little guy sat outside my window for nearly an hour, eating, resting, eating again. I swear that they seem to be in a tiny avian zen-like state sometimes. I was able to get right on the other side of the window and got about 100 shots, all but 4 or 5 deleted. I was going to go with the full-body pose but I like how this close up shows his bristly beak feathers with their hint of yellow. The next runner up when heturned his head to strike a pose.

I am doing my "citizen scientist" thing this weekend by counting birds at my feeders and I think I picked a great day for it. First thing this morning, I saw an Eastern Bluebird on the deck for a nanosecond. They don't eat seeds, so I think he may have come for water. Beautiful bird, and only the second time I've ever seen one. One of the red-bellied woodpeckers has been on several suet trips today and this one almost became my blip until the little downy showed up.

The hubs and I are having our neighbors over for dinner tonight - I am cooking up a meaty red sauce with marrow bones, pork, and the hubs' home-made meatballs. And bread, of course. And, wine!

Glad you liked the little finch-hawk yesterday. She definitely got into a scuffle with something, poor little thing. They are surprisingly hard little creatures, though.

Oh, and for those following the "great Christmas card debate" that I've been having with myself...I caved. Yes, I decided that I should at least send a quick card to close friends and family. I wimped out on the Christmas letter and did a Christmas blog instead. Easier. So, it's all a compromise. That's my story and I'm stickin' with it!

Happy Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.