Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Holiday Bouquet

As predicted, I recovered from yesterday's dental trauma and feel just fine today other than a slightly sore jaw. Ready to do battle! Ready to face life! Wait, ready to take a nap...

I had to put some hours in at work today, so didn't pick up my camera until a short while ago. The birds weren't cooperating and it is gloomy and grey outside, so I landed on the flowers again. This really is a lovely bouquet that I bought at the grocery store this weekend. I think these green flowers are some sort of mum - whatever they are, I love the way they look with the red carnations. Very festive. I did also toy around with a version in black and white which is posted on Flickr.

This morning when I made my morning rounds of the property, I saw a huge black vulture perched in the trees. First time I've seen one of these vultures, as usually what we have are the turkey vultures with their big red heads. This one had a completely black head and rather white-ish legs. He seemed a little nervous when I tried to get closer for a look, and took off. Other than that, as near as I could see it was the usual assortment of titmice, nuthatches, chickadees,woodpeckers, jays and finches today.

Five days until Christmas. I'd better find my holiday spirit soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.