Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...HoHoHo!

I know this is a stretch for a holiday theme, but it is so seldom that I see a pileated woodpecker (Dryocopus pileatus) that I had to go with it. I was watching the titmice this morning on the deck (them, not me) when a bit of motion at the edge of the woods caught my eye ... and there she was! The female pileated WP! This is America's largest woodpecker, measuring 19 inches (48 cm), about the size of a large crow or raven. She is a shy bird and I've only ever seen her twice before, once recently on a tree near the one she was excavating this morning. I had to take this at 460 mm, through double-paned window, and then crop the hell out of it. Which is why it isn't particularly sharp. However, I loved that her beak was well into the hole she was working on. And, c'mon, have you ever seen a more festive Santa hat on a bird???

And if you like this, check out Vodkaman's version HERE!

In other news, we had a Defcon Five situation here. The squirrels were farting around on the deck when suddenly all the little birds either disappeared or became motionless. Then, I heard the crows shrieking. Ran outside, looked up, and ... sure enough, two big red tailed hawks looping over the house, pursued by the crows. The hawks hung around for a few minutes until the crows became too much for them and they drifted off. Magnificent creatures, but I am glad they moved on. Squirrels are one of their favorite foods. And, between you and I, these squirrels aren't very smart about things like hawks. They were foostering around out there like nothing was going on - crazy things.

I also saw my first ever Common Redpoll this morning in our yard! They aren't one of our normal winter birds, but I've heard reports they this may be an irruptive year for them in our area. Hoping this won't be the last one I see - what pretty little things they are. Wish I'd been able to get a better shot, but this one is good for proof.

Five more "sleeps" until Christmas!

HoHoHo!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.