Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Next Generation

These are baby flowering torch cacti.  The mama is the taller one up front.

Late last September, there was a violent storm which uprooted mama torch.  The babies had been encircling her at the base but had become dislodged.

It seemed that it became uprooted easily because it rotted from the inside due to too much moisture.  It had been planted in the spring and we had a very wet monsoon.  I guess it wasn't in a good place for water drainage.

I waited a good month before I replanted it.  A hardy cactus can survive a long time out of soil.  Since the babies were separated, I decided to plant them in a bunch nearby.

All seem to have taken.  Mama has grown a little arm, which you can see a little fuzzy in the foreground.  But the babies have really grown.  Hopefully, once the Spring arrives, they will hit a real growth spurt.  I would love to see them bloom within a couple of years.  

I have no idea what they will look like growing together as a threesome.

I was desperate for a blip today.  I had a couple in the can that would have been just fine but there was just something about them that just rubbed me the wrong way.  Looking back, I think I made the right choice.  Maybe.  Oh, well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.