earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Dank Dawn

I was supposed to have taken a few hours break today to attend the Bradford blipmeet organised by Wendles56 (who has just yesterday passed two years of unbroken blipping), but I got stuck in the office to cover support. Unfortunately people seem to contract a lot of infectious diseases over the Christmas break (too much intermingling going on!), so our clients are pretty busy ... which means we have to be on call too.

I was going to ask Wendy if she was the original local blipper, and if everyone else around here in the Bradford area was blipping as a result of her passion. It seems to be something that spreads by word of mouth. I started myself as a result of a chance encounter with Runningbear back in May this year, so I should try to find out how she discovered blipping. I've been posting a lot of trees lately so it's rather appropriate to talk about blip family trees. It would be wonderful to map how all the people here are related. I now have a few lines branching out from my node, representing people who have have started blipping as a result of seeing my own blips.

I'm aware of little pockets of blippers spread all over the world, around Helsinki in Finland, Portland in Oregon, Christchurch in New Zealand, to name a few that come immediately to mind. Has each of these little enclaves been spawned by a single blipper with an evangelical desire to spread the good word? I wonder which blipper has the most blip descendents? It's quite likely to be Joe, of course, but I guess that MrSmith would be a strong contender.

It would great to have a little widget on our profile page to link to our own blip mother or father. It would then be possible to write a bit of software to display the whole network of connections. How cool would that be? I might have to suggest that to BlipCentral. Last time I made a wish it was granted almost immediately! I perhaps should tell that little story tomorrow, for those who might have missed that one on the forum.

But, for now, perhaps it would be fun to hold a straw poll. How did you come to be blipping? Answer ...

A) Directly via a friend or family member
B) By chancing across a blip
C) Through an internet search looking for something like blip
D) Through reading an article about blip
E) Other (please specfify!)

Tune in tomorrow to see the result. This blip was taken first thing before catching the bus in to the office. No trains because a tree had blown down in the gale last night and brought down the overhead cables. I was able to catch a short moment of brightness in a day which was cold, windy and mostly very wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.