Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

These...

...are a pair of very beautiful eyes. They belong to H, my eight-year-old and I'm pretty sure that not many people realise how beautiful they are. Noah's enormous chocolate-brown eyes are the ones which get all the attention. These change colour with his mood: dark and brooding when he's in a dark place and dancing with gold flecks when he's happy.

Anyway, they're truly beautiful eyes but their owner has driven me to distraction today.

Today has NOT been a good day. H has worked really hard to be as argumentative, prickly and full of attitude as it's possible to be without causing either of us to commit actual bodily harm on him...but it's been a close-run thing. I even resorted to my impression of a screaming fishwife earlier...not very attractive I can tell you.

Today has been difficult on a number of counts. I booked tickets to see Stomp at the Derngate a few days ago. Today I had an email from H's violin teacher telling me that H had been selected to be one of the lead violins in some festival ensemble she's putting together, and the festival is on at exactly the same time on exactly the same day as the Stomp concert...of course! So I rang the box office and asked if I could change the tickets to another night and pay the extra. 'Absolutely not...tickets can be neither exchanged nor refunded,' was the reply. I tried to reason with the horrible little man but he wasn't having any of it. I was mightily p*d off. Then for some reason I decided to try again later...don't ask me why, I just did. This time I got through to the lovely Ellen, who told me not to worry, reserved me four tickets for the next night and let me pay the difference. To Ellen I say a very relieved and grateful thank you :-) I believe in Karma...so you will get your reward soon :-)

Also H managed to wind Bob up so much that he lost his temper (which is practically unheard of) and he threw the Wii remote cross the room, where it smashed...necessitating us to buy a new remote or render the Wii pretty useless.

So not only a pretty snarky day mood wise, but a rather expensive one too. Here's hoping tomorrow is better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.